PGX Watches: Toonami (3/12-13/2016)

PGX Watches: Toonami (3/12-13/2016)

DBZKai

n9nqm9v

I AM A SUPER SAIYAN

Tesla Coil

This is one of the only episodes since Nappa was still alive that had what I’d call a good pace. We learned Vegeta was a Super Saiyan and how he became one (…sorta) and he beat Android 19. It’s still not a fast pace, as shown by Bulma still getting screentime, but the end of the episode didn’t have me complaining “that was it?!”.

Terrorking

For a while I was wondering how Vegeta came to the conclusion that turning into a super saiyan would make the disease worse. I figured it out after much thinking. When one turns into a super saiyan, one’s energy is constantly being burned up. Perhaps being losing so much ki makes one more susceptible to such things.

Carly Nagisa

I love how Vegeta managed to escape a potential beatdown due to a bluff. It just goes to show that Dr. Gero is a scientist first and a fighter second. Most modern Anime would have that blow against Vegeta’s face, resulting in Piccolo having to save him. Don’t get used to Vegeta winning though….uh…spoilers

Rob Lucci

I gotta appreciate the pacing of the episode. This pretty effectively collapse for the androids, and the quick speed of the fight makes me wish Kai truly realized the whole “cut filler” concept.


Dimension W

c6e8ru6

“Oops”

Tesla Coil 

The funniest part of the bathroom scene was Kyoma’s reaction to seeing Mira. He looked vaguely surprised and didn’t say anything! Can you believe it? …Okay, in all seriousness, I’m sure the writers are going for some irony where the robot character is more human than the human character, but what I get out of it is that Kyoma’s boring as hell.

Carly Nagisa

Never before in my life have I ever heard of a robot needing to go to the bathroom. Like seriously who the hell design a robot to be so human to the point that they NEED something like this to maintain proper functionality? She should have just been a cyborg instead, would make more sense for stupid scenes like this.

Rob Lucci

I don’t like most of the comedy in this even if it’s trying to contrast the two main characters. I don’t feel much attachment to either of them until a later scene in the episode.

Screenshot 2016-03-12 23.49.44

“I’m losing my head!”

Tesla Coil

This episode was a little less exposition-heavy than the last two. The main thing they explained was what a Numbers Coil was, which is something I actually wanted to know after the last episode. But… Kyoma and Mira didn’t really do a whole lot. Maybe the kids introduced this episode will become important later.

Carly Nagisa

My mind has decided to just zone out the exposition science mambo jumbo moments. Feel like I’m missing nothing of value either way. When my mind didn’t do that, I was bored at Mira trying to be human. It just didn’t feel like any real development or sympathy happened. That and I think we got like three to five butt shots in this episode. At least someone is keeping the quota up.

Rob Lucci

I liked the scene between Mira and Kyoma while she had her head off. I think it actually humanized both characters a bit, something that the show forgets in the waves on exposition.


Parasyte

Screenshot 2016-03-13 00.09.57.png

What south looks like when shit goes there.

Terrorking

Now the Parasites are the prey.

Carly Nagisa

You ever get that chilling feeling when a parasite just randomly land on your body as it dying?

Rob Lucci

There’s this sense I get that Shinichi feels regretful for things going this way. Not just the collateral damage, but the fact that it’s happening to the parasytes. Reiko must’ve had an impact on his thought process.

bicw76n

HYPE

Terrorking

In case you forgot, this is the same guy that beat Shinichi and Migi earlier and sent them running. He’s shaping up to be a good big bad for them to beat.

Carly Nagisa

Our second main villain boys and girls, not even bullets can slow him down. And he’s generous enough to give our mooks their bullets back, what a guy.

Rob Lucci

These last five minutes were ridiculously hype. It was inevitable this guy would stomp, but he more or less led them into a room just for the style of it. The military never stood a chance.

Screenshot 2016-03-13 00.26.04.png

Thank you for joining us today.

Terrorking

This episode was great. It was just a lengthy battle scene, but after 19 episodes of quiet build-up, I think this show’s earned a long stretch of action happening.

Carly Nagisa

I got serious phoenix wright flashback during this scene. That and “Excuse me, do you have time to talk about our lord and savior the parasites?”

Rob Lucci

These cliffhangers still annoy me. But at least in a show with this amount of depth, they don’t feel like a cheap ploy to keep you watching.


Champloo

YyiH3Qv - Imgur.gif

I’m sad now.

Terrorking

Trapped by a ho’, yo.

Carly Nagisa

It really is a touching episode, we don’t get a whole lot of Jincentric episodes but when we do they’re usually 10/10 worthy episodes. This is naturally one of them. Be it the love story between these two, Mugen’s side story with the beetle, or just the soundtrack itself, I think this episode really stands out on its own and you don’t need any clarity or info to understand it. Well except maybe the whole promise with Fuu but no one cares about Fuu.

Rob Lucci

Probably my favorite episode so far. Somber, but with a really nice bittersweet ending. No need for shock value, they just let the emotions play out, and I find that pretty remarkable considering Jin’s reserved personality. He’s… definitely interesting.


Shippuden 

Screenshot 2016-03-13 01.26.38

Home Count: 4

Terrorking

Even though the bad guys lost and got captured, it STILL felt like nothing happened. That’s because nothing did. They captured some useless henchmen and spent precious minutes bickering with each other in unfunny funny scenes.

Carly Nagisa

I saw spandex ass shots….I think I had enough TV for one day.

Rob Lucci

Mook squad getting beaten by the secondary cast? That’s pretty boring. This arc is boring. I’m sleepy.

 


One Piece

Screenshot 2016-03-13 01.54.12

YOHOHOHOHOHO

Rob Lucci

So, back to the world of canon, we’re introduced to Brook. I love his VA, and I think his more relaxed and calm voice works really well as a contrast to the screaming mad main characters and their loud humor.

Terrorking

Pretty bad first half. Brook was mildly entertaining, I’ll give him that. Let’s see how quickly this show descends back into the deep depths of mediocrity.

Carly Nagisa

Toei pacing in a nutshell. When we get to canon its usually good and when we get filler its not fun filler. Putting that aside, I really do like Brook VA’s. I think they did a good job choosing him and I’m not just saying that cause I love Space Dandy.

Leave a Reply

