PGX Watches: Toonami (3/5-6/2016)

PGX Watches: Toonami (3/5-6/2016)

DBZKai

Screenshot 2016-03-05 23.27.20

“19! SUCK! HIM! DRY!”

Rob Lucci

Future man tells you to take heart meds. You don’t. Nobody tells Goku about the Android’s draining power. This is quickly turning into an idiot plot: Hopefully people stop braining so much.

Terrorking

To be fair, you don’t take medicine when you aren’t sick was Goku’s reasoning. Maybe he should’ve gotten more tests done so he could be on top of it, but that’s way too responsible for Goku.

Favorite thing about this episode was that sequence where Goku grips his chest and slowly crumples to the ground. That’s the first time in Dragonball where you see Goku that defenseless against an opponent he can’t just punch. It did a good job of showing that even as a Super Saiyan, he’s still susceptible to something fairly mundane. Sean Schemmel is the best; sorry Nozawa, you cuddly old lady you.

Vaioumon

I also think it’s silly to expect them to have told Goku about the energy draining. Nobody that went with him at first knew. Yamcha didn’t show up until the fight was already going, and given how fast fights happen in this series (five minutes on Namek, anyone?), there just wasn’t time. But maybe I’m just crazy.

Tesla Coil

It might not be too weird for Goku to ignore his heart medication if he had no symptoms… but then it raises the question of why the heart condition went from nonexistent to crippling all at once. It doesn’t even make sense to be “because Super Saiyan stresses his body” – he’s been training for 3 years, and he almost kills himself all the time while he’s training.

But for that matter, why heart medication? “Hey Shenron. I wish Goku was immune to heart disease. Also, I wish Yamcha was immune to fists through the gut.”

Carly Nagisa

Even if you don’t count Goku’s inability to do routine checkups, you should still consider why didn’t Chi-chi, Gohan or any of his other friends remind him to be safe. I think Goku would go along with it if it means fighting at top physical health against the androids.Moving on, I can’t help but be a bit mad at Yamcha. He tries to rush to the others about what he learned, but when he sees Goku fighting he decides not to tell until later. Maybe if you weren’t so distracted, Goku wouldn’t be getting his energy drained by 19.


Dimension W

Screenshot 2016-03-05 23.41.19.png

Loser!

Rob Lucci

The show’s tendency towards information overload with the exposition… doesn’t work for me. The setting isn’t brilliant or nuanced enough for me to really want to learn more, so I end up almost tuning out when they’re sitting there for five minutes explaining things. As a result, I feel like the main characters are a little bland.

“Loser” is kind of cool, I guess. Like I said last time, I’m worried about the short length of the season.

Vaioumon

Check out this Izanagi lookin’ dude. He’s…doing something probably. I had a really hard time keeping up with this episode. There was quite a lot of exposition through dialogue again, and it just couldn’t hold me. The show falls short of the mark of interest that it would take for me to watch it again and actually see what all was said this ep.

Tesla Coil

There’s not much I can say that Rob and Vai didn’t cover. Too much exposition. I tune out. Loser’s kind of a cool character, but I don’t get why he’s named Loser other than to make the dialogue funnier.

Carly Nagisa

I can’t help but think this guy is clearly Kaito Kid from Case Closed. That is if Kaito Kid wasn’t a complete pansy, had a compelling backstory, and didn’t look like Jimmy but with a few minor adjustments.

qgiot0f

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn

Rob Lucci

This part was pretty creepy, though. Probably the first really eyecatching part of the setting that didn’t scream “generic sci-fi”.

Terrorking

That was unpleasant to look at.

This show has something going on, but nothing I care about. It hasn’t made me care, so all I hear is words and see pretty colors. I honestly spend more time each episode listing off similarities between the main character and Hei from Darker Than Black. Do I think this show is bad? Nah, it’s competent, but not gripping as yet.

Vaioumon

This some FMA stuff right here.

Tesla Coil

This part was cool. It gives a good look into the potential dangers of this energy source, and the characters’ response to this sort of body horror tells us a lot about the characters as well. You see, Dimension W? It’s much more effective to show us things instead of having monologues telling us about them.

If W does more of this, and also doesn’t expect us to have taken notes on the exposition they told us about earlier, it could turn into a good show. Right now it’s still pretty dull.

Carly Nagisa

The fuck did I just watched?


Parasyte

Screenshot 2016-03-06 00.03.52

A young Uragami.

Rob Lucci

Uragami’s a creep and a weirdo and I don’t foresee him being on this police operation going well. Seems destined to backfire, honestly.

Terrorking

This sequence where we get shown the stuff Uragami’s done is pretty dark, but what made this unsettling for me was the voice actor’s narration. It was unnerving in how he delivered his lines; it was exactly how you picture a homicidal sociopath sounding. The only thing missing was him breathing heavily into someone’s phone.

Carly Nagisa

You can take all of this and somehow compile up a good horror movie. I have to give props to the VA for being able to do this so well. I’m not the type who compares the original sub to dub because that’s nerdy and dumb. Even so, I can’t help but feel really impressed with this work even when doing so.

Screenshot 2016-03-06 00.19.39

Hey.

Rob Lucci

As Shinichi approaches graduation, it’s kind of interesting seeing Murano openly display contempt for the inspector. Shinichi’s been around a lot of bizarre incidents and I’ve gotta say that Murano doesn’t ask nearly enough questions about this shit. She’s… kind of just there.

Carly Nagisa

One of the few times that Murano has a point. She might know much due to not wanting her to end up like Kana. Yet it doesn’t stop her from putting her foot down in order to keep Shinichi from suffering anymore than he already has. And I like how his “Friends” notice this during the locker scene. Guy has went through some serious shit.

gdeb6wf

Terrorking

What I like about this plan is the plot is being resolved with elements introduced early on without the writer creating last-minute rules and traits for parasites. We knew from day one that parasites replaced the user’s head, and this is a really obvious way to have the good guys detect them. That’s good writing, and something the show’s been good at: it sticks to its rules and doesn’t try to pull a fast one.

Vaioumon

The government’s gearin’ up to finally hunt the parasytes down, and that can only end well.

Rob Lucci

Shit’s about to go down. Damn these cliffhangers!

Carly Nagisa

Terror already stole what I was going to say, so I’m just going to point out the fact that this will probably work for anyone except Ryoko & 5 parasite man.


Champloo

Screenshot 2016-03-06 00.54.46

Champloo Showdown

momoRX

GONG YI TANPAI!!!!

Terrorking

Who the heck are you?

Carly Nagisa

What makes you laugh?

hdpxz8d

Terrorking

This sequence says a lot about Mugen’s character. He’s not a honorable guy, and he’s pleased with himself when he swindles and gets away with it. The guy he killed was likely his better, but Mugen used subterfuge and less-than-savory methods to end him. That’s because Mugen doesn’t want to be the best warrior or whatever, he just wants to kill people (mostly on his level).

Vaioumon

This episode felt like I was watching a condensed Rurouni Kenshin arc. A random dude with a funky sword technique comes lookin’ to fight somebody strong. Mugen has a quick brush with him that gets interrupted, then they plan to meet again.We learn the bad guy’s backstory, and Fuu and Jin both get very worried Mugen’s going to die. Come round two, Mugen’s ready for his technique and comes out the victor. Except since Mugen is not Kenshin he kills the guy and grins while he does it, and that’s fine.

Pretty fun, it’s good to have some of these episodes mixed in with the strictly humor ones.

Rob Lucci

This show is definitely Watanabe show. It’s giving out these various details by using an episodic format, and I like it. Loads of personality in the show.

Carly Nagisa

Go watch the show, you won’t regret it. This is one of the reasons why I hold it so high on my list.


Shippuden

Screenshot 2016-03-06 01.25.17

Home.

Rob Lucci

This episode reminded me that Shizune is actually a ninja and not just Tsunade’s secret lesbian lover. Also, I’m looking for a replace to return to. Can you take me home?

Terrorking

The best (Re: ONLY GOOD) part of this episode was Kabuto smacking Yukimaru. Kabuto is just the best.

Carly Nagisa

It’s scenes like this that make me really appreciate Kabuto and only hate how he ends up in the manga more.


One Piece

Screenshot 2016-03-06 01.51.58

I’m feeling the opposite of this

Rob Lucci

I’ll let dandy cover this for me.

Terrorking

I’ll let Bardock cover this for me.

momoRX

I barely watch this show but I’ll let Francine cover this for me

Carly Nagisa

I got nothing.

Leave a Reply

